Contributed by: The James Bond Movie Encyclopedia by Steven Jay Rubin

(May 24, 1949–     ): Academy Award–winning British cinematographer, frequently associated with the Coen brothers, who shot Skyfall, receiving an Oscar nomination for his work on the film. Born in Torquay, Devon, England, Deakins made his feature film debut as a cinematographer on director Chris Boger’s period drama Marquis de Sade’s Justine (1977). His credits include, with his Academy Award nominations noted via boldface: Mountains of the Moon (1990); Barton Fink (1991); The Shawshank Redemption (1994); Fargo (1996); Courage Under Fire (1996); Kundun (1997); The Big Lebowski (1998); O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2000); The Man Who Wasn’t There (2001); A Beautiful Mind (2001); No Country for Old Men (2007); The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (2007); The Reader (2008), nomination shared with Chris Menges; True Grit (2010); Prisoners (2013); Unbroken (2014); Sicario (2015), Blade Runner 2049 (2017), and 1917 (2019), the last two of which won the Oscar for Best Achievement in Cinematography.


Subscribe on your favorite podcast app