Contributed by: The James Bond Movie Encyclopedia by Steven Jay Rubin

The Bond series has scored rarely in the annual awards derby of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. In the entire history of the series, up to 1989, Bond films have been awarded nineteen nominations and only six wins:

1964 Goldfinger Sound Effects Norman Wanstall
1965 Thunderball Special Visual Effects John Stears
2012 Skyfall Music (Original Song) “Skyfall” by Adele and Paul Epworth
2012 Skyfall Sound Editing Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers (tied with Paul N. J. Ottosson for Zero Dark Thirty)
2015 Spectre Music (Original Song) “Writing’s on the Wall” Music and lyric by Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith
2021 No Time To Die Best Original Song Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell
1967 Casino Royale (1967) Music (Song) Burt Bacharach and Hal David for “The Look of Love” “Talk to the Animals” from Doctor Dolittle
1971 Diamonds are Forever Sound Gordon McCallum, John Mitchell, and Alfred E. Overton Fiddler on the Roof
1973 Live and Let Die Music (Song) Paul and Linda McCartney for “Live and Let Die” Title song from The Way We Were
1977 The Spy Who Loved Me Art Direction Art Direction: Ken Adam, Peter Lamont; Set Decoration: Hugh Scaife Star Wars
1977 The Spy Who Loved Me Music (Original Score) Marvin Hamlisch Star Wars
1977 The Spy Who Loved Me Music (Original Song) Marvin Hamlisch; Lyrics by Carole Bayer Sager for “Nobody Does It Better” Title song from You Light Up My Life
1979 Moonraker Visual Effects Derek Meddings, Paul Wilson, John Evans Alien
1981 For Your Eyes Only Music (Original Song) Music by Bill Conti; Lyric by Mick Leeson for “For Your Eyes Only” “Arthur’s Theme (Best That You Can Do)” from Arthur
2012 Skyfall Cinematography Roger Deakins Life of Pi
2012 Skyfall Music (Original Score) Thomas Newman Life of Pi
2012 Skyfall Sound Mixing Scott Millan, Greg P. Russell and Stuart Wilson Les Misérables
2021 No Time To Die Best Visual Effects Charlie Noble, Joel Green, Jonathan Fawkner, and Chris Corbould Dune
2021 No Time To Die Best Sound Simon Hayes, Oliver Tarney, James Harrison, Paul Massey, and Mark Taylor Dune



Subscribe on your favorite podcast app